29 States

List of Indian States And Union Territories And Their Capitals

Static GK

India’s All 29 States And 7 Union Territories And Their Capitals

Hello friends Welcome to this post, In this post we are providing All 29 States with their Capitals and also Union Territories with their capitals. We also brought some interesting facts about Indian States. It will be very helpful for your competitive exams preparation. So make use of this tutorial.

India is a Federal Union Comprising 29 states and 7 Union Territories. The states and Union Territories are further subdivided into Districts and further into smaller Administrative divisions.In India each state has CM , who is head of the state and each state is governed by governor,who is appointed by president of India for a term of five years, and holds office at the presidents pleasure. Each Union Territory is administrated by Lieutenant Governor. DO check here for complete list of Chief Ministers and Governors of all Indian States.

Here is the Complete List of All 29 States and their capitals

1. Andhra Pradesh (AP) Hyderabad, Amaravati
2. Arunachal Pradesh Itanagar
3. Assam Dispur
4. Chattisgarh Raipur
5. Jammu & Kashmir Winter : Jammu

Summer: Srinagar

6. Himachal Pradesh (HP) Shimla
7. Haryana Chandigarh
8. Punjab Chandigarh
9. Bihar Patna
10. Jharkhand Ranchi
11. Uttar Pradesh (UP) Lucknow
12. Goa Panaji
13. Telangana Hyderabad
14. Gujarat Gandhinagar
15. Karnataka Bangalore
16. Kerala Thiruvanthapuram
17. Madhya Pradesh (MP) Bhopal
18. Maharashtra Mumbai
19. Manipur Imphal
20. Meghalaya Shillong
21. Mizoram Aizwal
22. Nagaland Kohima
23. Odisha Bhubaneshwer
24. Rajasthan Jaipur
25. Sikkim Gangtok
26. Tamil Nadu Chennai
27. Tripura Agartala
28. Uttarkhand (UK) Dehradun
29. West Bengal (WB) Kolkata

List of Union Territories with their capitals

S.NO Union Territory Capital
1. Andaman & Nicobar Islands Port Blair
2. Chandigarh Chandigarh
3. Dadra & Nagar Haveli Silvasa
4. Daman & Diu Daman
5. Lakshadweep Kavaratti
6. Puducherry Puducherry
7 Delhi (NCT – National Capital Territory) New Delhi

Some facts about Indian states as per 2011 population census :

  • Most Populous State : Uttar Pradesh
  • Least Populous State : Sikkim
  • Most Literate State : Kerala
  • Least Literate State : Bihar
  • Most Literate Union Territory : Lakshadweep
  • Most Literate Union Territory : Dadra Nagar & Haveli
  • Highest Sex Ratio(state) : Kerala
  • Lowest sex Ratio (state) : Haryana
  • Highest Sex Ratio (UT) : Puducherry
  • Lowest Sex Ratio (UT) : Damn & Dayyu
  • 100% banking state : Kerala
  • Highest Population Density : Bihar
  • Lowest Population Density : Arunachal Pradesh

Now its time to end this article, we hope it will be very helpful for your Competitive examinations preparation. You can ask us for any queries and don’t feel shy to enter your valuable suggestions and comments.If you have found any mistake in this article feel free to report us. See you in the next session with some other interesting tutorials until then stay with us. If you like this article don’t forget to share it on social Media.

Wish you all the very best!!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *