noble prize winners 2018

Noble Prize Winners List 2018

Static GK

Noble Prize Winners 2018

Nobel Prize, any of the prizes (five in number until 1969, when a sixth was added) that are awarded annually from a fund bequeathed for that purpose by the Swedish inventor and industrialist Alfred Nobel. The Nobel Prizes are widely regarded as the most prestigious awards given for intellectual achievement in the world. The first distribution of the prizes took place on December 10, 1901, the fifth anniversary of Nobel’s death. The given following table we have list of Noble Prize 2017 winners list

  1. Nobel Prize for Physics 
  2. Nobel Prize for Chemistry
  3. Nobel Prize for Physiology or Medicine
  4. Nobel Prize for Literature
  5. Nobel Prize for Peace
  6. Noble Prize for Economic Sciences (Added in 1969)

( Noble prize for Economic Sciences Awarded by The Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel, was established in 1968 by the Bank of Sweden and was first awarded in 1969. Although not technically a Nobel Prize, it is identified with the award; its winners are announced with the Nobel Prize recipients, and the Prize in Economic Sciences is presented at the Nobel Prize Award Ceremony)

List of Noble Prize Winners 2018

 Noble Prize Winners 2018
Noble Laureates  Field
Arthur Ashkin

Gerard Mourou

Donna Strickland

Frances H.Arnold

George P.Smith

Greg Winter

James P.Allison

Tasuku Honjo

Psychology/ Medicine
Denis Mukwege

Nadia Murad

Coming Soon… Literature
William Nordhaus

Paul Romer

Economic Sciences

Brief Note on Noble Prize Winners :

  1. Arthur Ashkin (American Scientist)
  • Born September 2, 1922
  • Worked at Bell Laboratories and Lucent Technologies
  • Father of the topical field of Optical Tweezers (Highly Focused Laser Beam)
  • The Key Phenomenon of Optical tweezers is the Radiation Pressure of Light, This Pressure can be dissected down into Optical Gradients and Scattering Forces.

2. Gerard Mourou (French Scientist)

  •  Born June 22, 1944
  • Awarded with Noble  along with Donna Strickland for the Invention of Chirped Pulse Amplification, a Technique later used to create Ultrashort- Pulse, High Intensity Laser pulse.

3.Donna Strickland (Canadian Optical Physicist)

  • Born May 27, 1959
  • Awarded Noble Along With Gerard Mourou

4. Frances H. Arnold (American Chemical Engineer)

  • Born on July 25, 1956
  • Works at California Institute of Technology(Caltech)
  • Awarded Noble for Pioneering the use of Direction evolution to engineer enzymes

5.George P. Smith( American Chemist)

  • Born on March 10, 1941
  • Professor at University of Missouri
  • 2018 Noble prize in chemistry together with Greg Winter and Frances Arnold

6. Greg Winter (England)

  •  Born on April 14, 1951
  • Works at University of Cambridge Laboratory of Molecular Biology,Imperial College London.

7. James P. Allison (American Immunologist)

  • Born in August 7, 1948
  • Professor at University of Texas.
  • His Discoveries have led to new Cancer Treatments for the deadliest cancers.

8. Tasuku Honjo (Japanese Immunologist)

  •  Born in January 27, 1942
  • Noble for his Identification of Programmed cell Death Protein 1 (PD-1) (Regulating the immune system)
  • He is also known for his Molecular Identification of Cytokines: IL-4 and IL- 5

9. Denis Mukwege (Belgian)- Congolese Gynaecologist

  • Born in March 1, 1955.
  • Founder and Works in  Panzi Hospitals in Bukavu.
  • Got Noble for the free treatment of women who have been raped by armed rebels.
  • He is Likely the world’s leading expert on repairing injuries of rape.
  • He shared Noble Peace  prize with Nadia Murad

10. Nadia Murad (Kojo , Iraq)

  • Born in 1993
  • German Based Yazidi Iraqi Human rights activist.
  • She was Kidnapped and raped by the Islamic state for 3 months.
  • Got Noble Peace Prize along with Mukwege for “Their efforts to end the use of sexual violence as a weapon of war and armed conflict.”

11. William Nordhaus (United States)

  • Born in May 31, 1941
  • Economist and Sterling Professor of Economist at Yale University.
  • Got Noble alon with Paul Romer for “Integrating Climate Change into Long-run Macroeconomic analysis”

12. Paul Romer (American Economist)

  • Chief Economist and Senior Vice President of World Bank until January 24, 2018.
  • He is  a Pioneer of Endogenous Growth theory.
  • He shared noble with William Nardhaus.

And Finally Noble Prize in Literature is not yet Declared. SO keep visiting  this website for more information and updates of 2018.

Thank you guys.

You May Also Read :

Noble Prize Winners List 2016 

Noble Prize Winners List 2017

Complete List of Bharat Ratna Winners from 1954 to 2018

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *